DATE: August 15, 2004

TO: The General Faculty Assembly


FROM: Dr. Gisele Bennett, Chair FSGC

SUBJECT: Report of the Activities of the Faculty Status & Grievance Committee for the 2004-2005 Year


The Faculty Status & Grievance Committee (FSGC) began the year with one open case from the previous year. In addition, five new cases were filed, making a total of six cases considered by the FSGC during the year. The Committee completed and made recommendations to the President on three of the five opened cases. The Committee discussed the sixth case, but did not find any merit to accept it for an informal investigation.   The open cases were complicated by summer schedules of the committee, grievant, and other parties named in the grievance. 

On July 14, 2005 the executive board approved the appointment of Prof. Ajit Yoganathan to replace Ms. Valerie Lafond-Favieres, who was leaving the FSGC.

At the August 25, 2005 meeting of the FSGC, the Committee welcomed its new members, Profs. John Dorsey (ECE) and Calton Pu (CC).  Dr. Mike Rodgers was elected as Chair for 2005-2006, and Professor Jack Feldman (PSYCH) was re-elected as Secretary.

I would like to thank Jack Feldman, Mike Rodgers, Tony Wasilewski, Valerie Lafond-Favieres, Wayne Book, and Erik Verriest for their services in 2004-05.


Respectfully Submitted,

Gisele Bennett

2004-2005 Chair, FSGC