Faculty Honors Committee:  2004-2005 Annual Report

Submitted by Kirsten Ely, Chair 2004-2005 Faculty Honors Committee


1.)  Selection of the Chair (August 2003):  The Committee Chair from the 2003-2004 year (Linda Thomas-Mosley) requested indications of interest/nominations for the 2004-2005 Chair.  Professor Kirsten Ely was selected by the Committee.


2.)  Revision of the Call for Nominations:  Professor Kirsten Ely circulated a draft of the revised Call for Nominations via email.  After receiving input from committee members, a final draft was accepted.


3.)  Notification of the Call:  Professor Kirsten Ely published a notice in The Whistle for the first two editions of the Spring 2005 semester, and emailed the Call to the deans and chairs of departments at the end of the Fall 2004 semester.  This should have been done in October, but there was a miscommunication so that it did not occur until much later.


4.)  Receipt of Nominations:  Nomination packets were received by Professor Kirsten Ely by the January 31st deadline and copies of the nominations were disseminated to all Faculty Honors Committee members.


5.)  Committee Meeting (February 17, 2005):  A meeting was held to introduce new members and to make the selections.  It was also determined that it would be helpful to create a document with guidelines to be passed down from year to year by the Chairs.


6.)  Award Selection:  The Committee made the following selections after much discussion to reach consensus.


Class of 1934 Distinguished Professor Award:  Dr. Bryan Norton and Dr. Thomas Gaylord were sent forward to the President’s Office.

Class of 1934 W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher Award:  Dr. Jeffrey Davis

Class of 1934 W. Howard Ector Outstanding Teacher Award:  Dr. Roberta Berry

Outstanding Service Award:  Dr. Carol Colatrella

Outstanding Continuing Education Award:  Dr. Lawrence Kahn

Class of 1934 Outstanding Interdisciplinary Activities Award:  Dr. Boris Mizaikoff

Class of 1934 Outstanding Innovative Use of Education Technology Award:  Prof. Randy Abler

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award:  Dr. Dongmei “May” Wang


7.)  Announcement of Awardees:  The Chair informed Aimee Anderson (Project Coordinator ICPA of the Award winners by email on February 18th, 2005.  Shortly thereafter, all nominators of unsuccessful award candidates were notified and encouraged to resubmit nominations the following year.


8.)  Presentation of the Awards:  Claudia Huff presented all awards except the Distinguished Professor Award (presented by the President) in the Chair’s place at the annual Faculty Honors Luncheon.