Welfare and Security




13 September 2002


Members Present: Tom Akins (CO-OP), Mary Ann Ingram (ECE), Frank Lambert (ECE),

Lionel Lemarchand (ModL), Carole Moore (ACAD SVC), Chair,


Absent: Gail Palmer (ECE), Stephen Popick (U Student), Jean Swank (GTRI), Ex



1.       The meeting was called to order at 9:05 A.M. by Carole Moore, Chair.


2.       The minutes from the 22 April and 13 May meetings were read and approved.


3.       Moore announced that Jean Swank, representative from Executive Board, was assigned to the Welfare and Security Committee for this year.


4.       Moore gave a brief report of last year’s activities.


5.       The floor was opened for nominations for committee chair.  Carole Moore was re-elected after discussion.


6.       The committee reviewed and provided feedback on a letter drafted to the Executive Board on faculty governance.  Moore will discuss it with the Chair of the Executive Board and the Secretary to the Faculty before sending it.


7.       A discussion ensued regarding the Parking and Transportation Committee.  Ingram will replace Lemarchand and join Akins representing Welfare and Security on the committee. A letter will be sent to Rosalind Meyer urging more faculty input into decisions.


8.       The committee considered projects for the upcoming year. In addition to the ongoing projects, mentoring for under-represented, untenured faculty, parking, and space allocation. 


9.       The next Welfare and Security Committee meeting will be 23 October at 9:30 A.M.


10.   There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:00 A.M.