Aerospace AE-eNews!


Vol. 3, Issue #1
February 2014


 Prof. Ben Zinn receives 2014 Reed Aeronautics Award
The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has announced that Regents Professor Ben Zinn has been named as the recipient of the prestigious 2014 Reed Aeronautics Award. Prof. Zinn will officially receive the award at AIAA’s Spotlight Awards Gala, April 30, to be held in Washington, D.C.

Named after AIAA’s founder, Dr. Sylvanius A. Reed, the award is considered to be the highest honor an individual can receive for notable achievement in aeronautics. With his selection as the 2014 recipient, Professor Zinn joins a list of past Reed awardees that reads like a who’s who of the field: Igor I. Sikorsky, Hugh L. Dryden, Charles S. Draper, Anatol Roshko, to name a few.


“I am humbled to be included among them. It’s more than I could have dreamed when I came to this country on a soccer scholarship in 1957,” Zinn said.

“I consider myself lucky to have worked with the faculty and students who have made Georgia Tech such a strong research institution. Every day, I wake up to work on the things I love with others who share that commitment.”

A member of the Georgia Tech faculty since 1965, Zinn is the recipient of numerous  honors, including AIAA’s 2000 Pendray Literature Award, AIAA’s 2003 Air Breathing Propulsion Award, AIAA’s 1996 Propellants and Combustion Award, the 2005 American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ Westinghouse Gold Medal Award, and several others. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, a Fellow of AIAA, and a Fellow of the American Accoustical Society. He is a Georgia Board of Regents Professor and also holds the David S. Lewis, Jr. Chair.  Read more

Dr. Karen Feigh selected to serve on NRC's Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board

Aerospace Engineering faculty Dr. Karen Feigh, a former Marshall scholar, is the youngest member ever to serve on the ASEB. She learned of her appointment in early January and will be inducted at the ASEB April meeting in Washington, D.C.

Read more..

AE welcomes Communications Manager
Kathleen Moore

Kathleen Moore is excited to join the School  of Aerospace Engineering as the new communications manager. She looks forward to promoting our School by telling the stories that only AE can tell: research that is laying the foundation for the future, teaching that is igniting the passions of tomorrow’s innovators, alumni who have chartered success in every sector of our economy, and a campus culture that encourages “impossible” dreams. 

Do you have an AE story that needs to be told? Contact her directly at
Kathleen comes to AE after having held similar positions at the Georgia Tech School of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Georgia Gwinnett College in Lawrenceville. A native of Massachusetts, she previously worked as a reporter (The Springfield Republican, The Boston Globe) and as a marketing and communications manager (Holyoke Community College, Lesley University, MassBay Community College).  

Prof. Suresh Menon named 2013 AAAS Fellow

Prof. Menon's citation reads "for distinguished and innovative contributions to the field of multi-scale computational simulation and modeling of turbulent combustion in power and propulsion systems."

Letter from the Chair

Dear AE alumni and friends:

The New Year is off to a great start in our School. Classes are underway, and our students are hard at work. We welcome Kathleen Moore and Diego Remolina to our staff. We are delighted to share with you the accomplishments of our faculty and students. If you haven't already, considering joining us on the AE website, or via our FaceBook, and Twitter sites. We look forward to hearing from you!

Vigor Yang
Chair, School of AE
Diego Remolina

AE welcomes back IT Manager 
Diego Julian Remolina

Diego has returned home to the School of Aerospace Engineering, 14 years after having graduated with a MS degree at the end of Y2K. During his time away, he has always been at Georgia Tech. His first appointment was at the School of Mathematics, where he developed a lot of his computer expertise. He subsequently worked at the Parker H. Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience in 2005. Two years later, Diego took over the helm of the School of Physics IT Services, where he rearchitected the School's computer infrastructure.
Lieuwen, Acharya, Emerson

AE's Lieuwen, Emerson, and Acharya recognized for Top 10 Most Read Article

Three Aerospace Engineering faculty, Professor Tim Lieuwen, and Research Engineers Vishal Acharya and Benjamin Emerson, have been recognized by journal publisher Taylor & Francis for their paper, Velocity and Flame Wrinkling Characteristics of a Transversely Forced, Bluff-Body Stabilized Flame, Part I: Experiments and Data Analysis , which has been named as one of the Top 10 Most Read articles in the area of fluid dynamics.

Find out more about Taylor & Francis's Top 10

Follow Us

Past newsletters are found at

Dr. Gi-Yun Chung Awarded Best Paper at ASME Turbo Expo 2013

Congratulations to Dr. Gi-Yun Chung, whose paper, "Real-time Analytical Linearization of Turbofan Engine Model" (co-authored by Prof. JVR Prasad) received the ASME 2013 Turbo Expo Best paper award in the Controls, Diagnostics, and Instrumentation category. Dr. Chung presented the paper in June 2013 in San Antonio, TX.

Read more..

Prof. Haddad awarded David Sloan Lewis Professorship

In January, the Board of Regents announced Prof. Wassim Haddad's appointment to the newly created David Sloan Lewis Professorship for Aerospace Engineering in Dynamical Systems.


Nicholas Picon selected as Marshall Scholar

Nicholas Picone, a fourth-year AE major and SGA President, will spend two years overseas studying autonomous vehicle dynamics and control at Cranfield University and international conflicts at King's College London.


Upcoming Events

Gebhardt Distinguished Seminar
Thurs. Feb. 6, 3:30-4:30 p.m.
Capt. Robert Crippen, Shuttle pilot and NASA program director
For more information contact:
Margaret Ojala | 404.894.3002 |
The Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology is one of the oldest and largest educational programs of its kind in the country.

The Institute had been asked to instruct U.S. Army personnel in aviation as early as 1917.
 follow on Twitter | friend on Facebook | Join us on Linkedin | forward to a friend 

Copyright © 2014 Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering, All rights reserved.
Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp