The College of Sciences was created by a separation from the College of Sciences and Liberal Studies. The new College was established in anticipation of the growing importance of interdisciplinary scientific technology-and its establishment has proven to be both wise and timely.

Sub-communities within this community

Collections in this community

Recent Submissions

  • Using Technologies to Support Memory Loss and Promote Functional Independence 

    Schmitter-Edgecome, Maureen (2019-05-01)
    The world’s population is aging, with the estimated number of older individuals living with memory impairment expected to rise significantly. To help individuals remain functionally independent with high quality of life, ...
  • WSC Podcast Episode 9: Informal Learning with Christopher Cerasoli 

    Tatel, Corey; Cerasoli, Christopher (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019-05-17)
    Host, Corey Tatel, speaks with Dr. Chris Cerasoli about informal learning at work and its importance in the modern day work context. Dr. Cerasoli is currently a Senior Talent Analytics Consultant at UnitedHealth Group and ...
  • The Impact of Technology on Workforce Skill Learning 

    Beier, Margaret E. (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019)
    In this piece, Dr. Beier outlines a range of modern technologies and their role in workplace skill learning. Ranging from web-based instruction and Massive Open Online Courses, to augmented reality and chatbots, Dr. Beier ...
  • The Periodic Table: A Treasure Trove of Passion, Adventure, Betrayal, and Obsession 

    Kean, Sam (2019-04-18)
    Why did Gandhi hate iodine? Why did the Japanese kill Godzilla with missiles made of cadmium? How did radium nearly ruin Marie Curie’s reputation? And why did tellurium lead to the most bizarre gold rush in history? The ...
  • Black to transmissive electrochromatic windows 

    Reynolds, John R.; Dyer, Aubrey L. (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2012-12)
  • Quantum Computing and the Entanglement Frontier 

    Preskill, John (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019-04-15)
    The quantum laws governing atoms and other tiny objects seem to defy common sense, and information encoded in quantum systems has weird properties that baffle our feeble human minds. John Preskill will explain why he loves ...
  • Planet Nine From Outer Space 

    Batygin, Konstantin (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019-04-09)
    At the outskirts of the solar system, beyond the orbit of Neptune, lies an expansive field of icy debris known as the Kuiper belt. The orbits of the individual asteroid-like bodies within the Kuiper belt trace out highly ...
  • Determination of the chemistry involved in enzymatic breakdown of crystalline cellulose 

    Ragauskas, Arthur J.; DelVecchio, Vito; Ziemer, Cherie; Davidson, Seana (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2010-08)
    Lignin, cellulose and hemicellulose, the key components of lignocellulosic biomass are closely associated with each other at the plant cell level. This close association, together with the partly crystalline nature of ...
  • Optical and electronic processes in metal nanoparticle-conjugated organic materials 

    Perry, Joseph W.; Marder, Seth (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2010-08)
    Gold nanoparticles (ca. 3 nm in diameter) coated with bis(diarylamino)biphenyl-based thiols with two different alkyl spacers (propyl and dodecyl) between the chromophore and the surface-anchoring thiol group have been ...
  • Mathematical Mysteries of the Periodic Table 

    Baez, John (2019-04-02)
    Why do atoms behave the way they do? Why do electrons form “shells,” as seen in the periodic table? Why does the first shell hold 2 electrons, the second 8, and the third 18: twice the square numbers 1, 4, and 9? ...
  • Waveform analysis of repeating earthquakes - Implications for fault damage and healing processes 

    Peng, Zhigang; Assamaki, Dominic (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2009-08)
    The main goal of this project is to quantify the damage and healing processes in major fault zones that are recently ruptured in moderate to large earthquakes using waveform analysis of repeating earthquakes.
  • Aging and Memory: Attentional Resources and Cognitive Control 

    Craik, Fergus I. M. (2019-03-25)
    In this talk I will examine the proposition that age-related memory problems are largely attributable to declines in attentional resources and executive control, and will illustrate the arguments with experimental results ...
  • How a Failed Astrophysics Major Became a Successful Science Writer 

    Lemonick, Michael (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019-03-12)
    I knew from the time I was a very young child that I wanted to be an astronomer. The dream lasted until I got to college, where I learned to my dismay that I actually had no passion for doing what an astronomer does; what ...
  • WSC Podcast Episode 8: Motivation in the Modern Workforce 

    Fletcher, Keaton A.; Kanfer, Ruth (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019-03-11)
    Host, Keaton Fletcher, speaks with Ruth Kanfer, Professor of Industrial-Organizational Psychology at the Georgia Institute of Technology, and Director of the Work Science Center. Ruth and Keaton discuss all things motivation, ...
  • Celebrating Silicon: Its Success, Hidden History, and Next Act 

    Filler, Michael A. (2019-03-05)
    The history of silicon is usually told as a history of electronic materials and devices. However, it is better told as a history of manufacturing innovation. This talk will take a journey through the manufacturing innovations ...
  • Rethinking Memory Systems for Statistical Learning 

    Turk-Browne, Nicholas (2019-02-27)
    Dogma states that memory can be divided into distinct types, based on whether conscious or not, one-shot or incremental, autobiographical or factual, sensory or motor, etc. These distinctions have been supported by ...
  • The Science of Origami 

    Rocklin, David Zeb (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019-02-25)
    What kinds of shapes can you make by folding a sheet of paper? How strong can you make them, or how flexible? Although we've been folding paper for centuries, we're still discovering fascinating new answers to these ...
  • How the Universe Made the Elements in the Periodic Table 

    Sowell, James (Georgia Institute of Technology, 2019-02-06)
    The creation of the elements in the universe took billions of years and required various processes. The first few minutes of the big bang produced only hydrogen (H) and helium (He). No new elements were formed until a ...
  • Characterizing iron reducing microorganisms from anoxic ferruginous lake sediments 

    Costa, Bianca Francesca
    Lake Matano, Indonesia is a well-known ancient ocean analogue as its anoxic ecosystem in the subsurface sediments allow the growth of microorganisms capable of mediating anaerobic oxidation coupled to iron reduction. An ...

View more